Stephen Perofeta (Wanganui Collegiate) named in NZ Baabaa’s Starting XV


New Zealand Schools and Barbarians Schools teams named for Palmerston North match
The New Zealand Schools and Barbarians Schools teams to face one another in Palmerston North tomorrow have been named.

The match, scheduled to kick off at 12.30pm at Palmerston North Boy’s High School, is the first hit-out for both teams this year.

The 2015 New Zealand Schools team will be captained by Peter Umaga-Jensen of Scots College. However due to a minor injury, he will sit out tomorrow’s match and Vice-Captain Dalton Papalii (St Kentigern College) will instead lead the team.

Following the weekend’s match, New Zealand Schools will depart for a three-match international series in Australia.

Played at venues across Brisbane, the team will first face Samoa Schools on Thursday (24 September), before matches against Australian Barbarians Schools (28 September) and Australia Schools (2 October).

The New Zealand Schools team is:

1. Xavier Numia (St Patrick’s College – Wellington)
2. Brodie McAlister (Shirley Boys’ High School)
3. Takaji Young Yen (King’s College)
4. Isaia Walker-Leawere (Gisborne Boys’ High School)
5. William Tucker (St Bede’s College)
6. Liam Giltrap (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)
7. Dalton Papalii (Captain) (St Kentigern College)
8. Marino Mikaele-Tu’u (Hastings Boys’ High School)
9. Kemara Hauiti-Parapara (Wellington College)
10. Joshua McKay (Christchurch Boys’ High School)
11. Losi Filipo (St Patrick’s College – Silverstream)
12. Sevuloni Reece (Hamilton Boys’ High School)
13. Baylin Sullivan (King’s College)
14. TJ Vaega (Kelston Boys’ High School)
15. Joshua Buchan (Otago Boys’ High School)

16. Asafo Aumua (St Patrick’s College – Silverstream)
17. Harrison Allan (St Andrew’s College)
18. Alex Fidow (Scots College)
20. Slade McDowall (Otago Boys’ High School)
21. Tim Hogan (Otago Boys’ High School)
22. Ray Nuu (St Andrew’s College)
23. Ben Power (Hutt International Boys’ School)
24. Wiseguy Faiane (Auckland Grammar)

St Kentigern College openside flanker Dalton Papalii will captain the team.

nzbaabaaThe New Zealand Barbarians Schools team is:

1. Antonio Ripata (Captain) (Auckland Grammar School)
2. Samasoni Taukei’aho (St Paul’s Collegiate)
3. Sione Asi (Otago Boys’ High School)
4. Isitolo Maka (Sacred Heart College)
5. Jacob Pierce (Rosmini College)
6. Brayden Iose (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)
7. Thomas Christie (Shirley Boys’ High School)
8. Ajay Mua (King’s College)
9. Thomas Stewart (Feilding Agricultural High School)
10. Ciarahn Matoe (King’s College)
11. Jona Nareki (Feilding Agricultural High School)
12. James Little (Takapuna Grammar School)
13. Antonio Mikaele-Tu’u (Hastings Boys High’ School)
14. Freedom Vaha’akolo (Auckland Grammar School)
15. Stephen Perofeta (Wanganui Collegiate)

16. Flynn Thomas (Southland Boys’ High School)
17. Tim Farrell (Napier Boys’ High School)
18. Ryan Coxon (St Peter’s Collegiate)
19. Benjamin Sau (De La Salle College)
20. Joshua Brown (St Patrick’s College – Silverstream)
21. Lewis Gjaltema (Orewa College)
22. Tiaan Falcon (Lindisfarne College)
23. Samuel Toa (Hamilton Boys’ High School)
24. Hemaua Samasoni (Otago Boys’ High School)

Auckland Grammar School prop Antonio Ripata will captain the team.

Team changes

NZ Schools

  • Caleb Clarke (Mt Albert Grammar School), Peter and Thomas Umaga-Jensen (Scots College) will sit out tomorrow’s match due to minor injuries.
  • With injuries to the above, Bailyn Sullivan (King’s College) and Raymond Nuu (St Andrew’s College) have been training with the New Zealand Schools team this week and will take the field for tomorrow’s game. Neither Sullivan nor Nuu will travel to Australia.
  • Tom Florence (New Plymouth Boy’s High) has been ruled out due to injury.
  • While the 2015 NZ Schools team will be captained by Peter Umaga-Jensen, Vice-Captain Dalton Papalii (St Kentigern College) will lead the team in this weekend’s game.

NZ Barbarians Schools

  • The team will be captained by Antonio Ripata (Auckland Grammar School). Vice-Captain is Thomas Christie (Shirley Boys High School).
  • Melino Fineanganofo (Auckland Grammar School) has been ruled out through injury and has been replaced by Lewis Gjaltema (Orewa College) who has been brought into the team.
  • Hemaua Samisoni (Otago Boys’ High School) has also joined the team.

New Zealand Schools and New Zealand Barbarians Schools fixtures:

Date: Saturday 19 September
Who: NZ Schools v NZ Barbarians Schools
Venue: Palmerston North Boys’ High School
Time: 12.30pm

Date: Thursday 24 September
Who: NZ Schools v Samoa Schools
Venue: Sunnybank RFC, Brisbane
Time: 1pm local; 3pm NZ

Date: Monday 28 September
Who: NZ Schools v Australian Barbarians Schools
Venue: St Joseph’s College, Brisbane
Time: 6pm local; 8pm NZ

Date: Friday 2 October
Who: NZ Schools v Australia Schools
Venue: Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane
Time: 6pm local; 8pm NZ

SKY TV Schedule:
A highlights package from the matches played in Australia will be broadcast on SKY TV following the New Zealand Schools v Australia Schools match. Please refer to upcoming television guides for further details.