~Full Replay ~ NZU20 team named for opening Oceania match against Australia


New Zealand under 20 team named for opening Oceania match against Australia

Wanganui’s own Stephen Perofeta starts at #10 

Full Replay Below

The New Zealand side to play the opening match of the Oceania Rugby Under 20 Championship against Australia tomorrow, has been named.

The team is:

1    Ayden Johnstone
2    Leni Apisai, captain
3    Pouri Rakete-Stones
4    Quinten Strange
5    Sam Caird
6    Luke Jacobson
7    Mitch Jacobson
8    Marino Mikaele-Tu’u
9    Sam Nock
10    Stephen Perofeta
11    Mason Emerson
12    Jordie Barrett
13    Patelesio Tomkinson
14    Jonah Lowe
15    Peter Umaga-Jensen

16    Asafo Aumua
17    Shaun Stodart
18    Alex Fidow
19    Lui Luamanu
20    Dalton Papali’i
21    Ereatara Enari
22    Orbyn Leger
23    Josh Mckay

New Zealand Under 20 Head Coach Scott Robertson said the Oceania tournament was an invaluable opportunity for players to make a final push for the World Championship squad.

“The players are pretty excited and so are we.  This is a hugely important part of preparing our side for the World Championship.  We’ve had a good preparation on and off the field, and it was good to be able to focus on getting our processes right, and getting the boys tight.”

New Zealand faces Australia at Bond University, Gold Coast, Australia at 6:30pm local time (NZT 8:30pm).  Their second match will be played on Saturday at 4pm (NZT 6pm) at Bond University.

Robertson also confirmed late injury replacements to the squad in Australia.  Josh McKay from Canterbury has been called in as injury cover for fellow Cantabrian Caleb Makene, and Taranaki’s Finn Hoeata was ruled out with a knee injury meaning a late travel call up for replacement Caleb Aperahama of Canterbury.

Livestream coverage of the New Zealand v Australia Under 20 match tomorrow –  livestream here.

Robertson is expected to announce the World Championship squad early next week.   The squad will be announced on on Tuesday morning 10 May.

The full New Zealand squad in Australia for the Oceania Rugby tournament:

Ayden Johnstone Waikato
Mason Kean Hawke’s Bay
Shaun Stodart Otago
Sean Paranihi Canterbury
Alex Fidow Wellington
Pouri Rakete-Stones Hawkes Bay
Leni Apisai, captain Wellington/Hurricanes
Asafo Aumua Wellington
Quinten Strange Tasman
Sam Caird Waikato
Caleb Aperahama Canterbury
Mitchell Jacobson Waikato
Luke Jacobson Waikato
Dalton Papali’i Auckland
Marino Mikaele Tu’u Hawke’s Bay
Jonathan Taumateine Counties Manukau
Sam Nock Northland/Blues
Stephen Perofeta Taranaki
Jordie Barrett Canterbury
Patelesio Tomkinson Otago/Highlanders
Orbyn Leger Counties Manukau
Jonah Lowe Hawke’s Bay
Malo Tuitama Wellington
Peter Umaga-Jensen Wellington
Ereatara Enari Canterbury
Mason Emerson Hawke’s Bay
Caleb Makene Canterbury
Josh McKay Canterbury
Matthew Lansdown Waikato

Not considered due to Super Rugby Commitments:
Shaun Stevenson             Waikato

Players not considered due to injury:
Hamish Dalzell            Canterbury
Isaia Walker-Leawere            Wellington
Hapakuki Moala- Liava’a        North Harbour
TJ Va’a                 Wellington/Hurricanes
Jordan Trainor             Waikato/Blues
Finn Hoeata                Taranaki
Jahrome Brown                 Waikato
Hugh Renton                 Hawke’s Bay
Harrison Levien             Waikato
Lisati Milo-Harris            Auckland