Hurricanes Provincial Union Rugby For 2017 Kicks-Off This Weekend

Defending Hurricanes Under 20 Development Series Champions Wanganui, commence their campaign for a “three-peat title”, when the 2017 Under 20 competition kicks-off this weekend.

Wanganui travel to Gisborne’s Rugby Park to play Poverty Bay in their Round 1 match which kicks-off at 1.00pm, while in the other Round 1 fixture, Horowhenua-Kapiti travel to Masterton to take on Wairarapa-Bush at Trust House Memorial Park, with kick-off also at 1.00pm.

This year, the first ever Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team will be selected at the conclusion of the Under 20 Series, following a double-header Round 2 and 3, which will be played at the Sport & Rugby Institute at Palmerston North, on 12 and 13 August.

While not participating in the Under 20 Development Series, Ngati Porou East Coast RFU players are also eligible for selection in the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team.

The Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team will play in the Hurricanes Central Region Shield (Under 19) competition against Wellington, Manawatu and Hawkes Bay, in advance of the Jock Hobbs Memorial Under 19 Tournament, which will be played in Taupo, in September.

Age eligible players in the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team may be also selected to be part of the New Zealand Heartland Under 19 Team, which will also play in Taupo.

Full updates on all fixtures will be reported at

(Published : 31/07/17)