Wanganui RFU – 2006

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Wanganui Rugby Union.
We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2007 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Back to Year by Year Index click here

2006 Status:
Founded 1888 – Affiliated 1892
Assistant Coach:
G.R.J.Lennox, J.M.Caskey
Main ground:
Cooks Gardens , Wanganui
Royal Blue, Black and White

As Wanganui marched unbeaten through the championship rounds they emerged as the best balanced team in the contest and favourites for the Meads Cup trophy. However, in the final at Wanganui, against Wairarapa Bush, the visitors took advantage of the wind and had built a 16-0 lead by halftime. Wanganui replied in the second half with two tries to come back to 14-16 behind and the final minutes were played in desperation, Wanganui trying to score the winning points before the whistle sounded and Wairarapa Bush defending valiantly. The elements were not kind for open rugby, it was a hard slog and Wanganui came up short in the end. But it had been an excellent season for Wanganui and the style of play revitalized support for the team. Milton Haigs reputation as an astute coach had grown significantly by season’s end.

Halfback Denning Tyrell led the team with Leon Mason at first five-eighth and the solid pairing of Steelie Koro and Logan Vaughan in midfield.These players distributed the ball quickly to the team’s most potent try scorers — the threequarters. Pati Fetuia equalled the union record for a season with 14 tries, Asaeli Tikoirotuma scored nine and dangerous running fullback Alena Ateria scored seven. It was crowd pleasing rugby and other backs also made valuable contributions – Brendan Bartley, Qio Vucago and Amini Niukula.

Brett Turner and Cole Baldwin were the hookers used with Mike Thompson and Sheldon O‘Hagan solid props. Andrew Slight and Michael Fitzgerald were the regular locks. A trio of hard Taihape farmers in Matthew Gilbert, Peter Rowe and Daniel Aldworth formed an uncompromising loose forward trio and Rowe and Aldworth were rewarded, along with four other members, with selection for the Heartland XV to Argentina.

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Heartland: Aldworth, Mason, O’Hagan, Rowe,Thompson,Vaughan.

2006 Results

Sat 21 Oct 2:30 pm H Meads Cup Final Wairarapa-Bush 14 - 16
Sat 14 Oct 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship (S/F) Meads Cup Mid Canterbury 30 - 17
Sat 07 Oct 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship - Meads Cup Wairarapa-Bush 28 - 22
Sat 30 Sep 2:30 pm A Heartland Championship - Meads Cup North Otago 37 - 49
Sat 23 Sep 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship - Meads Cup Mid Canterbury 46 - 08
Sat 16 Sep 2:30 pm A Heartland Championship Poverty Bay 30 - 41
Sat 09 Sep 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship South Canterbury 11 - 05
Sat 02 Sep 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship Horowhenua-Kapiti 46 - 03
Sat 26 Aug 2:30 pm A Heartland Championship King Country 23 - 23
Sat 19 Aug 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship Thames Valley 65 - 18
Sat 12 Aug 2:30 pm A Pre-Season (non-first class) Taranaki “Dev.” – “XV” – “B” 20 - 12
Wed 21 Jun 2:30 pm H Pre-Season (non-first class) East Japan 36 - 26
Wed 14 Jun 2:30 pm H Pre-Season (non-first class) Taranaki “Dev.” – “XV” – “B” 11 - 47
Fri 28 Apr 2:30 pm H Representative Canada ‘A’ 07 - 30

APPEARANCES For Wanganui RFU (2006)

2006 Players

    Position PL
Placeholder Amini Niukula Wing 6
Placeholder Andrew Evans Flanker 8
Placeholder Andrew Slight Lock 9
Placeholder Asaeli Tikoirotuma Winger 9
Placeholder Ateria Ateria Fullback, Wing 10
Placeholder Brendon Bartley Fullback 9
Placeholder Brett Turner Hooker 10
Placeholder Cole Baldwin Flanker, Hooker 10
Placeholder Dan Clavelle Prop 6
Placeholder Daniel Aldworth Flanker, Lock 10
Placeholder Daniel Rolls Halfback 1
Placeholder Denning Tyrell Midfield Back 11
Placeholder G. Kennard Lock 1
Placeholder Jaco Barendse Wing 1
Placeholder Josh Edwards Halfback 1
Placeholder Lance Devane Prop 1
Placeholder Leon Mason Five Eighth 9
Placeholder Logan Vaughan Midfield Back, Fullback 10
Placeholder Marcel Halbert 0
Placeholder Matthew Gilbert Lock, No. 8 10
Placeholder Michael Fitzgerald Lock 9
Placeholder Mike Thompson Prop 10
Placeholder Nemia Adrole Loose Forward, Lock 7
Placeholder Ngaphere Huia Prop 7
Placeholder Pati Fetuia Centre 10
Placeholder Paul Belliss Flanker, Lock 3
Placeholder Peter Rowe Flanker 11
Placeholder Qio Vucago Flanker 5
Placeholder Ricky Alabaster Halfback 6
Placeholder Robert Hughes Fullback 1
Placeholder Sheldon O’Hagan Prop 9
Placeholder Steelie Koro Five Eighth 9
Placeholder Terry Tanoa Loose Forward 5
Placeholder Timoci Ului Flanker 3
Placeholder Vaan Rauhina Hooker 1
Placeholder Willie Kabakaba Hooker 1
zPenalty Try 0